Trail Nut 10k Race Weekend

June 5th is the weekend of the 2010 Trail Nut 10k.  I am meeting two fellow runners/college buds at Smith Mountain Lake for the weekend.  Our plans…we race, run, drink good beer and catch up.  Should be nice and relaxing.  I’ll get back to this weekend retreat later in life.

As for the race…I have been training my butt off for this race.  Last year was my first trail race.  I was first overall with a time of 44 minutes and some odd seconds.  Not bad for a first time trail race.  So, naturally I wanted to improve on that.  So I upped my training regimen.  I did lots of tempo runs, some hill repeats and several 6-10 mile runs over the past several months.  My legs are feeling great.  This past weekend (Memorial Day Weekend) was gonna be an important weekend for training.  One last tempo and two long runs.  So I laced up my INOV-8 Roclite 295’s to whip out a single track tempo.  Didn’t happen.  First few steps I felt some tenderness in my right ankle.  Annoyed, I kept going hoping it would go away.  It didn’t.  400 meters into the trail I tuck my tail and walk back.  Frustrated, I text my two running buddies, the same ones I’m meeting this weekend.  ICE IT!  ICE IT! ICE IT!

Well, to make a long story short, I’ve iced the ankle several times for the past 3 days.  I’m feeling much better now.  I was able to ride my Mountain Bike several times pain free to keep things moving.

Physically I am ready to race.  Mentally, nope.  For some reason in the back of my mind I am worried about my ankle on a mountainous trail run littered with root debris and slippery rocks.  Will it give out, or will it hold up for another Trail Nut 10k Victory.  I’m running to win it, so stay tuned!

As Steve Prefontaine once said

“To give anything less than your best is to sacrifice the Gift”

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trail Nut 10k Race Weekend

  1. A race can be so hard on the body and mind, best of luck on a fast one!

Leave a Reply

