Lost X-Country Runner

The other day I decided to take my daughter on a short hike through the trails at our local state park.  We had only planned on going for a bit, collecting information on Bigfoots in our area.  That is a whole different post, so I’ll save those details.

What we ended up doing was taking photos of cool looking mushrooms.  We played a simple game of “I spy a Mushroom”  Everyone plays that game right?  No?  Oh well, its new and lots of fun.  Ever since Hurricane Irene, mushrooms have been popping up all over the place.  The park was loaded with them.

We took some photos and carried onward in hunt of Bigfoot clues.  Then, we heard a scream, or was it a howl, or was it…a X-Country runner?  Lost and lacking the ability to communicate very well, the nervous runner explained his dire situation.

He had been on a long run with his teammates and started to lag behind.  After several turns on different trails, he managed to get disoriented and ultimately lost.  He had been without his group for over 3o minutes when I found him.  He needed to get back to his team bus and do this in the quickest manner.  When I asked where his bus was parked, I was shocked to find that this poor kid was standing at the furthest point possible to his bus.  He was 2.75 miles away.  I asked him what kinda mile pace he ran.  11:00 minutes????  Man that would take him forever to get back.  He’d probably get lost again.

I explained who I was and how I ran X-Country, Indoor and Outdoor track for another local High School way back when.  He then started calling me sir.  Damn!  Oh well.  I asked him if I could give him a ride in our car to his team bus.  He thanked me and took the offer.  We walked back, talking running and trails.  I explained how to not get lost on a trail system when running.  Simply scuff the trail that you just turned off of, so when returning you follow your scuff marks.

We drove to the park entrance looking for his team bus.  It was nowhere to be found.  The team had left.  They left a lone runner lost in the woods, who speaks broken English and has no clue what to do next.  We decided to take him back to school.  When we get there, there is still no team bus, coach or any other teammates waiting for him.  I dropped the kid off, he thanked me and off H and I went back home.

Now, I have a question for you.  Who is to blame?

1-Coach

2-Teammates

3-The Lost Kid

I blame the Coach, it’s the easiest thing to do.  Not only did he leave a runner behind, but he is also teaching his other athletes that it is ok to leave your teammates behind.  Anyway, we did our good deed of the day.  I just hope everyone involved has learned some sort of lesson.

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

