Rated “R” for Mature Language…just read it

Yesterday after work I decided I wanted to go for a run at the park. Nothing unusual there. Something I do on a regular basis. I get all my gear on, grab my running buddy (our Llewellin Setter) and we head to the park. As I’m running, I realize that I have really slacked on posting on my blog. I needed a good topic. I look down at Willow, she is fully focused, running so effortlessly next to me. She has that doggie grin on her face and loving every minute. Then it hits me, I’ll write a nice little post about Willow, my running buddy.

Not so fast. Before I could gather my thoughts, I hear the rustling of leaves. A rat looking thing is chasing us. Not sure what it is, we pick up the pace. It looked like some sort of demonic groundhog. It was fast and closing the gap. Before we knew it, it was right next to us. Oh, it was just a rat looking mutt of sorts. Little guy had a collar and leash, but no owner. I grab the leash, introduce the two dogs the best I could.

I hear a holler from the holler (hollow). I assumed this was the rat dogs owner and I hollered back. The following events/ conversation took place.

Mystery Man: Cheeeeeeew eeeeeeeeey!

Me: I got your dog!!!!

M.M.: That little f@cker got away from me.

Me: I got your dog!!!!

M.M. Catch up, you’re damn slow.

He must have another dog with him that is slow. Poor thing. Boy was I wrong. Coming up from the woods was a man and a little 5, maybe 6 year old girl dressed in pink and a white fluffy vest. Cute girl, annoying dad. As they approached me, the man pushed a branch from a holly tree out of his way. The branch swung and hit the girl right in the eye. She began try cry from the pain.

M.M. You deserved that. What are you crying about? It’s your fault we are chasing this damn dog.

Me: Silent

M.M. That f@cking dog got away when she was taking a piss in the woods.

Me: Silent

M.M. Let me see your eye. Awe, just zip it, you’re fine.

M.M. Hey, there is another dog, little black f@cker, you seen it.

Me: Heard a dog up the hill.

M.M. Oh man, I hate these f@ckers. Annoying. Thanks for grabbing him for me.

Me: Silent.

I never said a word to the man. Better yet, I didn’t say a thing to the low life. I handed him the leash and took off running down the hill. I was worried…for the girl, for those two dogs, for anyone associated with this man. He was quite frankly a poor specimen of human being.

Being a father of a 6 year old girl and a loving dog owner, I was deeply disturbed by this event. It hurts. It hurts to hear someone talk to another person like that. Then for it to be an innocent little girl who gets the blame for the whole event via a mouth full of F bombs, well, that’s just hateful. No one deserves to be a father and act like that.

So, no post on my running buddy for today, just a rant on some random dead beat dad.

Oh and Mom, sorry about the language.

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rated “R” for Mature Language…just read it

  1. Lynn Reese says:

    Makes you think of those “What would you do?” shows. While you hate to see an innocent child abused like this, you don’t want to risk a physical altercation with someone like this poor excuse for a father or risk making things worse for his little girl. Too bad you couldn’t get his name and report him to social services.

Leave a Reply

