My Best Friend

I just wanted to take the time to introduce everyone to my best friend.  We all have one.  Someone you can count on.  That person you love spending time with regardless of the situation. A friend who makes you laugh and brings a warm smile to your face each time you see them. That person for me is a wonderful young lady.

I am lucky enough to enjoy breakfast with her everyday.  We mix it up on occasion.  Mostly, we have breakfast at my place.  Sometimes we head out before our morning commute and pick up a biscuit or two and chow down on the way to work.

Our typical commute together consist of playing games, singing songs on the radio or simply people watch at the intersection. The morning commute to work is always a blast with her.

After a long day at work, we meet back up again, commuting back to where we met. I ask how her day was, she ask the same.  We fill each other with all the details.  Who said what, who did this, who is not feeling well, you know the typical water cool conversation. By the time we get to our destination we typically decide that we want to hang out for a bit longer.

She sometimes runs errands with me.  Going to the bank. Picking up some groceries.  If not, we may chose to go for a hike at the park or head over to the animal museum to visit with nature.

On weekends when we are both not busy, we tend to hang out even more.  She is a big help at the Hops Yard.  Always willing to volunteer to pull weeds or plant more hop bines under the trellis.  She will even help out at the greenhouses on the weekends I have to work.  Again, loves to plant flowers and get dirty with us guys.

Every once in a while she goes running with me.  She loves the trails.  We pack some water bottles and food to snack on afterwards.  Always planning our next run.  She’ll even hit up the pond with me to go fishing.  We could spend hours down there together.  Shes always bragging when she catches more fish than me.

A few times we have gone on road trips together.  Just the two of us and our dogs.  We typically head to NC to visit with close friends.  Nothing is better than a weekend away with a good friend.

All this fun we have.  All the adventures we go on.  All the time we spend together.  Its amazing that this perfect lady of a friend is simply a 6 year old girl.  My daughter.  My best friend. My sidekick.

Nothing makes me smile more when we are walking together and she grabs my hand with her tiny hand.  She tugs my arm, looks up at me and says…

“You’re my best friend daddy!”

Damn right kid! You’re MY best friend!

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Best Friend

Leave a Reply

